Why certain images may not be the best but still manage to capture attention….

August 20, 2009 at 6:00 pm (Uncategorized)

A photograph is usually looked at – seldom looked into.ย  ~Ansel Adams

Has it ever happened that after coming back from a trip/tour/project Etc and while you were reviewing your images you were about to delete an image because it wouldn’t fall under the category of ‘good ones’ and said ‘hey! wait a minute this may not be a typical good one but there is something about this one!’ ? You smile and it went in to your saved folder. ๐Ÿ™‚

If your answer is yes to the above one then you have company. Today while I was reviewing my images there were few which caught my attention for different reasons.I viewed it from a different perspective :).

Let me take you through few of them I took which were riveting for different reasons:

IMG_2137

IMG_2138

Wild Dogs (Dholes) photographed @ Bandipur – The above images may not be the typical good ones, but when I took a look at them for the second time there was something about them. The Dholes in their habitat looking away made me wonder ‘what was going on in their mind?’. The trees in the background and the foreground added to the images. When I was concentrating on the first Dhole suddenly my attention shifted to the one behind it and a lot of drama is added to the image by the second one (behind the bushes). This created a kind of mystery around the enitre photograph.

IMG_2149

This image told me a story that probably the pack was out on an evening stroll and suddenly they seemed to be anxious about the uninvited guests. Especially the Dhole looking up has such a curious look on its face, whereas the rest of them seemed least bothered.

IMG_2152

Oh when I saw her I couldn’t help but photograph her because it was so beautiful to a see a pregnant Dhole. I wish I could see her pups one day. She looked the most beautiful. This image has a part of her face behind the bushes and when I saw her expression I wondered if she was scared for her babies more than anything else. Probably she wanted to protect them at any cost and was worried how to. Again the habitat adds a lot to the image

IMG_2345

This image has all the elephants moving away and the baby at the end added that special touch to the photograph. And the entire family seemed to be tired of seeing humans and their intervention and hence one of the natural reactions was to move away. Again the lovely habitat and brown color add drama to the photograph.

IMG_2349

Oh this is my favorite image because if you closely observe, the eyes of the elephant speaks volumes, they are captivating. It felt as if it had kept an eye on us. The photograph itself adds a lot of drama, with the other elephants behind (blurred), the main one is on the extreme right trying to move away to its left. And boy! the grass in front of it gives it a special touch.

IMG_2356

Why certain images may not be the best but still manage to capture attention….
Today at 10:58pm | Edit Note | Delete
Has it ever happened that after coming back from a trip/tour/project Etc and while you were reviewing your images you were about to delete an image because it wouldn’t fall under the category of ‘good ones’ and said ‘hey! wait a minute this may not be a typical good one but there is something about this one!’ ? You smile and it went in to your saved folder. ๐Ÿ™‚

If your answer is yes to the above one then you have company. Today while I was reviewing my images there were few which caught my attention for different reasons.I viewed it from a different perspective :).

Let me take you through few of them I took which were riveting for different reasons:

Wild Dogs (Dholes) photographed @ Bandipur – The above images may not be the typical good ones, but when I took a look at them for the second time there was something about them. The Dholes in their habitat looking away made me wonder ‘what was going on in their mind?’. The trees in the background and the foreground added to the images. When I was concentrating on the first Dhole suddenly my attention shifted to the one behind it and a lot of drama is added to the image by the second one (behind the bushes). This created a kind of mystery around the enitre photograph.

This image told me a story that probably the pack was out on an evening stroll and suddenly they seemed to be anxious about the uninvited guests. Especially the Dhole looking up has such a curious look on its face, whereas the rest of them seemed least bothered.

Oh when I saw her I couldn’t help but photograph her because it was so beautiful to a see a pregnant Dhole. I wish I could see her pups one day. She looked the most beautiful. This image has a part of her face behind the bushes and when I saw her expression I wondered if she was scared for her babies more than anything else. Probably she wanted to protect them at any cost and was worried how to. Again the habitat adds a lot to the image.

This image has all the elephants moving away and the baby at the end added that special touch to the photograph. And the entire family seemed to be tired of seeing humans and their intervention and hence one of the natural reactions was to move away. Again the lovely habitat and brown color add drama to the photograph.

Oh this is my favorite image because if you closely observe, the eyes of the elephant speaks volumes, they are captivating. It felt as if it had kept an eye on us. The photograph itself adds a lot of drama, with the other elephants behind (blurred), the main one is on the extreme right trying to move away to its left. And boy! the grass in front of it gives it a special touch.

This one was fascinating because as I lifted my camera to photograph them they all seemed to meet at a point. It was so amazing because it really made me curious as to what those guys were up to. It looked as if they had convened for a meeting to discuss something. What was this behavior all about? And the best part is that the elephants are out of focus and the plant in front of it is in focus which added the much needed aura to the entire image.

Well thinking about each image/photograph from a different perspective reassures my belief in ‘Photography is an Art’ and ‘Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder’.

More pictures to follow soon….

Take Care
Jyothi

3 Comments

  1. Sangfroid said,

    I wonder what made you think of deleting these photographs even at the first glace. They are quite captivating ๐Ÿ™‚

    Aside, the FB plugin you have seems to have duplicated content.

  2. Deepa said,

    I too wonder what made you think these photos were “deletable”! I really enjoyed this post.

  3. Sundaram said,

    When you said write as if it is pouring right out of your heart, I did gave a thought and kinda decided how to go about it. I just went through some your blogs and saw first hand info on “pouring right out of your heart”. Photographs are fab……..

Leave a Reply

